Against the Inevitable: Luck of the Draw

Hello all. I’d like to kick off the new year by showing off the chance mechanics I’ve been working on for Against the Inevitable. Right now I’m leaning toward using cards instead of dice as they lend an “invisible hand of fate” feel that seems to mesh well with the game’s theme.

I’m using a simple, “draw a card, highest card wins” as the basic mechanics. I then let character traits expand on that.

At the most basic level, you’ve got the hand size being set by either a specialized schtick (0 to 3 cards) or a more general background (0 to 2 cards). On top of that I’ve got goals and archetypes/roles raising the value of the high card if a certain number or suit comes up. To finish things off, heroes can use Drive to draw extra cards and may gain limited use prizes during play to raise their card values. In contrast, enemies lack drive but gain reliable raises to their card values through prowess traits.

One interesting side effect of this is that goals and archetypes actually become more effective as hand size increases. That means that following a goal or archetype is more likely to pay off when it aligns with the character’s signature skills. Even more interesting is that those goals and archetypes are even more likely to have an impact when a character is spending drive. I like the idea that the hero’s desires and nature are made more prominent when they’re pushing themselves.

So that’s it in a nutshell. It’s a simple draw high mechanic with extra features added as the character gains supporting traits. Now I just need to hammer through the numbers and see how this works with the other mechanics. On a related note, I’ve been doing my probability testing in javascript. I may end up releasing my test program when this is all done so you folks can see how the probabilities work out. If anyone wants a peek before then just let me know.

Published in: on January 2, 2012 at 7:55 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dancingchimera.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/against-the-inevitable-luck-of-the-draw/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey man, what’s the latest on this game?

    • I’ve actually gotten it up to where it’s ready for internal playtesting. However, I’m moving to another state, so I haven’t had much time to devote to this the past few weeks. I should be able to push for a 1st round playtest doc after I’m settled in.


Leave a Reply

